Frequently Asked Questions
If I am in a car accident, should I speak with the other party’s insurance company?
No. Call Perotti Law Offices LLC first. Do not speak with the other party in the accident except to share your insurance information. Do not speak with the other party’s insurance company.
How are lawyers paid for injury cases?
Generally by a “contingency fee agreement” whereby the attorney does not get paid for legal fees unless you get paid. However, the client may be responsible for any costs incurred in the case. Generally, costs are not an issue because most lawyers only take cases that they know they can win.
If I get stopped by the police and I have consumed alcohol, should I take the breath test?
It depends on several factors. First and foremost, if you refuse to take the test, you will be penalized with a Administrative License Suspension of at least one (1) year (if no prior refusals) and you would not be eligible for driving privileges until after 30 days. If you submit to the breath test, and blow over .08, you will also be placed on a minimum of 90 days (if no prior OVI’s) license suspension and become eligible for driving privileges after 15 days. Therefore, if possible call Perotti Law Offices LLC before taking this test.
How long will my personal injury case take to settle?
Every case is different. The answer depends on: 1) the duration of your medical treatment, 2) whether you used Medicaid or Medicare to pay for your medical bills (a law office must receive a “lien amount” from the government before resolving your case) and 3) whether liability is contested. Most personal injury cases, unless contested, resolve within 7 months to 12 months after the accident.
If I am approached by law enforcement before an arrest, do I have to speak with them? What about after I am charged?
You may have a legal duty to cooperate with law enforcement, but you need an attorney to make that decision for you. Most people, while speaking to law enforcement, are too nervous to make a rational decision and end up incriminating themselves. Once you are arrested and charged with a crime, you have an absolute Fifth and Sixth Amendment Right against self incrimination and to speak with legal counsel.
We have includes a few useful links to external websites to help you find what you are looking for:
Supreme Court of Ohio
Ohio State Bar Association
Cuyahoga County Clerk of Courts
Geauga County Clerk of Courts
Please note that Perotti Law Offices LLC is not liable for the content of external websites. The links above implicitly constitutes acknowledgement and acceptance of this agreement.